Evening Book Group

First Monday at 6:45 p.m.
vanishing

December 5 - The Vanishing Half by Brit Bennett

Weaving together multiple strands and generations of the Vignes family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the American history of passing.

Morning Book Group

Second Tuesday at 10 a.m.
tender

December 12 - This Tender Land by William Kent Krueger

A novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the Great Depression, from the bestselling author of Ordinary Grace.

Social Justice Book Club

Second Wednesday at 6 p.m.
doing

December 14 - Doing Good Better by William Macaskill

Most of us want to make a difference. We donate our time and money to charities and causes we deem worthy, choose careers we consider meaningful, and patronize businesses and buy products we believe make the world a better place. Unfortunately, we often base these decisions on assumptions and emotions rather than facts. MacAskill urges us to think differently, set aside biases, and use evidence and careful reasoning rather than act on impulse. When we do this-when we apply the head and the heart to each of our altruistic endeavors-we find that each of us has the power to do an astonishing amount of good.

Non-Fiction Book Club

Fourth Wednesday at 6 p.m. 
countdown

December 28 - Countdown by Shanna Swan

In the tradition of Silent Spring and The Sixth Extinction, an urgent, "disturbing, empowering, and essential" (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) book about the ways in which chemicals in the modern environment are changing--and endangering--human sexuality and fertility on the grandest scale, from renowned epidemiologist Shanna Swan.

Book Chatter

Third Thursday at 10:30 a.m.

Love to read? Love to talk about books? Love to get FREE books? Book Chatter offers all of that and more.